The Dead South


DS Press Photo Vert

The Dead South—Nate Hills (lead vocals, guitar, mandolin), Scott Pringle (guitar, mandolin, vocals), Colton Crawford (banjo, kick drum) and Danny Kenyon (cello, vocals)—are fun, modern hillbillies from Regina, Saskatchewan who can make you forget your troubles and even what century you’re in.

But the band isn’t just about style and good looks. Their full-length debut album, Good Company (released on Curve/eOne), is full of rousing bluegrass kickers that they’ve played all over Europe and the U.K. multiple times, as well as Canada and into the U.S., enthralling fans who just can’t get enough. Co-produced by Orion Paradis (Rah Rah, Library Voices), Good Company is fuelled by such timeless subjects as lovin’, cheatin’, killin’ and drinkin’.

The Dead South has been hard at work since they formed as a band, having showcased at Reeperbahn Festival 2014, Canadian Music Week 2014, Regina Folk Festival, Ness Creek Music Festival, Gateway Music Festival, Juno Fest 2013-2014, Grey Cup Festival 2013, Saskatchewan Party Premier’s Dinner, and the All Folk’d Up Festival.

It seems that everywhere The Dead South plays, their good company expands.

DS Album ArtRelease Date: February 25, 2016
Label: Curve Music / eOne

1. Long Gone
2. Achilles
3. The Recap
4. In Hell I’ll Be Good Company
5. Manly Way
6. Travellin’ Man
7. Honey You
8. Ballad For Janoski
9. Down That Road
10. The Dead South
11. That Bastard Son
12. Deep When The River’s High
13. Into The Valley