Christina Martin

Press Photo

Experimentation is the lifeblood of any artist, and when ideas suddenly coalesce into something which, until that moment, seemed beyond reach, that’s when a great work of art is born.
Christina Martin has achieved that on her fifth album It’ll Be Alright, a 10-song collection that finds the Halifax-based singer-songwriter attaining what her music has always suggested, a place where the ghosts of her Americana heroes freely mingle with pop-rock’s modern architects.

The album’s brilliance lies in how its blend of the past and present is seamlessly executed. The bridge between them is Martin’s voice, an instrument both haunting and immediate, traits that could also best describe It’ll Be Alright’s lyrical content. To say the album is Martin’s most accomplished effort to date is stating the obvious; what is remarkable is how her maturity has translated into her most accessible accessible album to date as well.

“With this album and the development of the live show I am able to say a lot more with my music than I ever have before,” Martin says. “There is growth because we are all reaching for something bigger for ourselves and the audience.”

Working closely with her guitarist and husband Dale Murray (Cuff The Duke, The Guthries), Martin made a conscious effort not to be bound by the expectations of those who have categorized her in the past as an alt-country artist. Although she will never shed those influences, It’ll Be Alright utilizes far more sonic textures, allowing Martin to explore the many sides of her musical personality.

“My father and MTV turned me on to many types of music growing up, but I am probably more driven towards pop and classic rock,” she says. “Going into this record we were clear that we wanted a bigger anthem-like sound overall, each song needed to say something that would resonate with a bigger audience.”

Born in Florida and raised in the Maritimes, Martin’s musical has led to extended stays in Austin, Texas, as well as Germany, from where she has cultivated a substantial following across mainland Europe. Along the way, she has earned multiple East Coast and Music Nova Scotia Awards and Nominations, had songs placed in several high profile television programs, and she performed for Queen Elizabeth II in Ottawa.

It’s all set the stage for It’ll Be Alright, and an ambitious live show that will take Martin and her band around the world throughout 2015 and beyond. “I’ve wanted to develop the live production for a long time and experiment with audio and visual elements, movement, set designs” she says “with an aim to create special events that build a strong connection between the audience and the music. We also want to represent this album live as accurately as possible, and that means having an incredible band and team supporting this album. I’m stepping out of my comfort zone in doing all of this, but that’s the exhilarating part of it.”

Come Undone Records / Fontana North (2015)
Come Undone Records / Fontana North (2015)

1. It’ll Be Alright
2. Reaching Out
3. I’ve Got A Gun
4. Lines
5. Puppet Museum
6. You Ran From Me
7. Take Me Back In A Dream
8. You Don’t Have To Leave Tonight
9. Things You Can’t Tell By Looking Her Way
10 Somewhere With You

Official Site